Today

Today I am alive

My heart beats, in fact, its racing

But all I can feel is a hole drowning it out

It’s sucking all the life from my body

It doesn’t show signs of stopping.

 

Today I can think

But it’s not organized

My head races with thoughts

It goes one way and then another

It doesn’t show signs of stopping.

 

Today I can breathe

But then like a snow storm it hits

My breath is taken from me and I can’t take it back

It leaves my body like a rushing stream

It doesn’t show signs of stopping.

 

Today I live with anxiety

It’s like a crowd of wild bulls

It crushes and tramples over me

I lose my breath, my heart and mind race

It’s like a hurricane inside

It doesn’t show signs of stopping.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Today

  1. As you described each paragraph I felt like I experienced that with you. That is confirmation of good writing when you take the reader on the journey with you and they actually feel the experience too…. Good work ❤

    Like

Leave a comment